Board of Directors

John Cain, Chair

John is a senior Melbourne solicitor and son of the former Premier. He has worked as a lawyer for in excess of 33 years. John was managing partner of Maurice Blackburn and has served as CEO of the Law Institute Victoria and as Victorian Government Solicitor. In November John is currently the Victorian Solicitor for Public Prosecution.

Brian Howe, Deputy Chair

Brian is a prominent public intellectual whose career includes a number of years as a member of the Australian Parliament. He was Deputy Prime Minister in the Hawke Government of the 1980s.  Currently he is a Professorial Associate at the Centre for Public Policy at Melbourne University. He is interested in a range of social policy issues including employment, vocational education, ageing and social housing.

Faith FitzGerald, Secretary

Faith is an independent management consultant. She had a long career in senior management in the public and private sectors. Currently she sits on several boards.

John Howie

John is a lawyer running his own legal practice.  He has chaired a number of public bodies including Victorian Legal Aid, Film Victoria,and the Sports Federation Victoria (VicSport). He has also been active on the Boards of many community groups including the Montsalvat Board, Vision 2020, The Avoca Project,  The Law Foundation of Victoria, the Advisory Board of La Trobe University Law School, the National Tennis Centre Board of Trustees, Melbourne and Olympic Park Trust and Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth).

Maxine McKew

Maxine is an Hon Fellow of the Melbourne Graduate School of Education and the author of Class Act and Tales from the Political Trenches. She has a thirty year background as a broadcast journalist with the ABC. In 2007 she made the switch to politics and defeated John Howard in the Sydney seat of Bennelong. She served as a Federal MP from 2007 to 2010 and was Parliamentary Secretary for early childhood, and later for infrastructure and local government.

Adam Fletcher

Adam is an experienced accountant and joined the Board as Treasurer in 2016.  He has worked in financial analysis roles in several organizations, including for the Trade Union movement.  He is currently a manager at National Bank of Australia.

Diarmuid Cooney-O’Donoghue

Diarmuid is a Researcher at the Brotherhood of St Laurence Research and Policy Centre. He researches issues relating to the labour market and social security. He holds degrees in Politics and Chinese Language Studies.


Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options